Mashed Potato & Cheddar Casserole

Tonight was a cold night, and I was craving comfort food. Potato and cheese casserole sounded wonderful. I adapted this recipe based on what I had in the house. It made just enough for two servings as a main dish, so double the recipe if you’d like extra helpings.

2 large Russet potatoes
1 tbsp. butter
1 carrot or a handful of baby carrots, shredded
1/2 zucchini, chopped
1/2 cup chopped onions or leeks (the white part, washed well)
1 1/2 cups sour cream*
1 cup cheddar cheese, divided in half
2 tbsp. minced fresh parsley
salt & pepper to taste

Boil potatoes in salted water. When tender, peel and mash until mostly smooth. Sautee the vegetables in the butter until tender. Combine vegetables with the potatoes, sour cream, half of the cheese, the parsley, and salt and pepper. Spoon the mixture into a buttered 8×8 baking dish and sprinkle the remaining cheese on top. Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes, until cheese browns on top.

* I didn’t have any sour cream, so I made my own. I whipped a bit more than 3/4 cup of cream, pouring in lemon juice little by little as I whisked so it wouldn’t curdle. I kept tasting along the way and stopped adding lemon juice when the cream was tart enough.¬†Eventually, the cream nearly doubled in volume.

2 Responses to Mashed Potato & Cheddar Casserole

  1. Heather says:

    I like everything that is happening here.

  2. Brian says:

    YES! this looks awesome.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

