Chicken Pot Pie

We went out to Easter brunch this morning, and I had the worst biscuits of my entire life. Seriously, y’all: They were so hard that I couldn’t cut them with a knife, much less my teeth. And I don’t even want to talk about the gravy. It was just…wrong.

I wanted to make up for that experience with a home-cooked dinner, but didn’t have the ingredients to make a traditional pot pie. I looked at a few different recipes online, then came up with this variation.

pot-pie

Ingredients:

3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 cup chicken broth
Salt and pepper
1 1/2 cups milk
3 tablespoons butter
1/2 cup chopped celery
1/2 cup chopped carrots
1-2 cloves minced garlic
1/3 cup flour
2 cups frozen vegetables, thawed
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons oil
1/3 cup milk

Place the chicken breasts in a large saucepan. Pour the chicken broth over the chicken breasts, then season with a pinch of salt and pepper. Bring the broth to a boil, then drop the heat to low. Simmer, covered, for about 30 minutes or until the chicken is cooked all the way through.

Pour the broth into a large glass measuring cup and allow it to cool. Skim off the fat, then add the 1 1/2 cups of milk. Cube the chicken and set aside.

Melt the butter in the saucepan over medium heat and add the celery, carrots and garlic. Saute for a few minutes, then stir in the 1/3 cup of flour. As soon as the flour is soaked up by the butter and forms a paste, slowly begin adding the broth/milk mixture. Add it about 1/4 cup at a time, stirring constantly. Bring the liquid to a simmer, stirring constantly, until the sauce thickens. Add the chicken, thyme and vegetables to the sauce. Any combination of vegetables will do; I was trying to use up a few nearly empty bags and ended up with 1/2 cup mixed veggies, 1/2 cup green beans, 1/2 cup corn and 1/2 cup peas. Pour the mixture in a greased baking dish.

To make the biscuits, mix the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a bowl. Add the 1/3 cup of milk and oil and stir until just combined. Drop the dough in rounded tablespoonfuls on top of the filling. Bake the pot pie at 375 degrees Fahrenheit for about 30 minutes, or until the biscuits are lightly browned.

6 Responses to Chicken Pot Pie

  1. Gilliebean says:

    Holy Jesus, you are a genius. I need this.

    • Katie says:

      Oh, you should have it! It really was good. I was surprised, because usually my experiments don’t turn out quite this well. I was thinking about trying one with pancetta and broccoli next.

  2. Brian says:

    I know I should be thankful that we have a tiny stove top in our room here in Dahlgren, but holy crapshit, I now wish we had an oven.

  3. Darren says:

    These look amazing! When I was in San Francisco last, we walked past a place called The Cravery, that was all handheld pot pies.
    The wonder!
    I was so excited a place like that existed, but we were about to eat dinner so I couldn’t partake. I’ll be back.

    • Kathleen says:

      Oh my goodness, I’ve eaten at The Cravery! Gotta love production catering offering delicious handheld pot pies of the breakfast variation. I believe a pot pie in any form is usually quite delicious… and heartwarming.

  4. Katie says:

    Jesus, that sounds amazing. I love pot pies more than is reasonable or healthy. I’d probably die if someone handed me one that I could hold in one hand and eat without a fork while I went about my business.

Leave a Reply

