Crawfish Etouffee

So last Saturday I went to an LSU Alumni Crawfish Boil out in Pasadena. Yes, I know I did not graduate from LSU, but they accepted me anyway.  Along with all the great food and beer we consumed there, they gave out 3-4 pound bags of boiled crawfish to take home because they had such abundance.  Well, I tested out my mom’s crawfish etouffee recipe and it was a success. So I share with you here…

Ingredients

2-3 pounds crawfish
1 stick of butter
1 bunch of green onions chopped
1/2 white onion chopped
3 Tablespoons Flour
1 teaspoon Paprika
Cayenne Pepper
Salt & Black Pepper
2 cups water
Tony’s

IMG_0029

In a sauté pan, melt one stick of butter.  Add chopped green and white onions and sauté until clear.  Keep flame medium to low and be careful not to brown.  Add flour one tablespoon at a time, stirring constantly.  Cook flour through a moment and then add the paprika.  Stir. Add several shakes of cayenne pepper, a dash or two of salt, and a several of black pepper.  Then slowly add the water, stirring constantly.  Let that simmer for about 10 minutes or so. Add in the crawfish and continue cooking over low heat, stirring throughout.  While the sauce continues to simmer, your rice should be cooking.  I then add Tony’s liberally to taste until it’s where I want it.  Then of course once it’s all done, serve it up and enjoy.

IMG_0030*note: This photo was before it finished.  It thickens up.  I was just over excited to eat that I forgot to take a picture of the finished product.

Leave a Reply

