Introducing the Pizzilla

The Pizzilla

The Pizzilla

In all of history, maybe someone has put sauce and cheese on top of a tortilla, maybe they haven’t. I ain’t a food historian. I do know that I haven’t seen it happen before, so I get to name this creation The Pizzilla. (It’s up to you whether you’d like to pronounce the ll sound as Spanish speakers pronounce tortilla, like a y, or as in Napoleon Dynamite, pronouncing the ll like armadillo.)

This is a meal that’s been rattling around my brain for awhile, borne from the age-old problem of wanting homemade pizza but not wanting to spend all that time making the dough. At any point in time, I’ve got a freezer full of tortillas, which are round, doughy objects similar to a pizza. There has to be a way, I’d think to myself.

The base of The Pizzilla is as follows:

  • Tortilla (we use spelt tortillas.)
  • Mixture of Ricotta cheese and one minced clove of garlic, seasoned with Italian seasoning (we use a seasoning mix created by our local organic co-op). On top of that I added a little dab of olive oil, for flavor and to help the tortilla get crispy.
  • Tortilla

This gave the base of The Pizzilla a nice weight and texture. Build the tortilla on a cookie sheet so it’ll be ready to pop into the oven. On top of that I poured some spaghetti sauce, spread it around with a spoon, and then added mixed vegetables. I added the cheese on top to hold everything together, because there’s not the bowl shape of the crust. I also covered the vegetables in olive oil before putting them on the pizza, just to ensure they’d cook well.

The Pizzilla close-up

The Pizzilla close-up

After preheating the oven to 350 degrees, I slid The Pizzillas into the oven for 15 minutes, which turned out to be a good time as the veggies were cooked thoroughly and the cheese had fully melted.

The beauty of The Pizzilla, and even a pizza, is that you can put anything you want on top. Make one for an appetizer, or three for an entrée for two. Mix and match toppings, sauces, etc.

5 Responses to Introducing the Pizzilla

  1. Chuck says:

    Hope I’m not bursting your bubble, but I’m like 99% sure “Pizzilla” is the name of a Rachael Ray dish.

  2. Chuck says:

    You’re right. I apologize. It was “Pizzagna” … I was way off.

    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/rachael-ray/pizzagna-recipe/index.html

  3. Brian says:

    I’m actually a little surprised you used the word “armadillo” as the example word for the second version of the pronounciation, when “Godzilla” seemed like the obvious choice. Does a Godzilla reference make this dish more awesome? Absolutely.

    I do like the dual tortilla with fixin’s between because, as you mentioned, a lone tortilla would not have the weight/strength to sustain to load of conventional pizza toppings. Well played Darren.

  4. Melia says:

    Pizilla strikes fear into the hearts of mere mortals. http://tinyurl.com/lluhh4

Leave a Reply

