Two Slow-Cooked Chicken Recipes: Tacos & Tortilla Soup

Picking a favorite kitchen appliance is like picking a favorite child. It’s too difficult, how could I ever choose… OK, this week it’s the Crock-Pot. I know I’m a little late to this party, but I’m amazed by this brilliant invention. It actually does all the work for you! Like magic! You just put in the ingredients and it miraculously becomes a delicious meal. It’s the closest thing to Rosie from the Jetsons that I will ever have.

Photo courtesy of colormepink’s Flickr photostream

I’m obsessed with shredded chicken at taquerias, so I tried to recreate a similar dish in the Crock-Pot. Two pounds of chicken ended up stretching into several meals: tacos the first night, then a huge batch of tortilla soup with the leftover meat.

Chicken Tacos

Ingredients:

2-3 lbs. boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into small chunks
1 packet taco seasoning
2 cloves garlic
1 jalapeño pepper, diced
1 medium yellow onion, diced
2 small cans mild green chiles
Enough water to cover everything

Spices to taste:
Salt and pepper
Cayenne pepper
Chili powder
Tapatio sauce

Put everything in the Crock-Pot the night before; cook on low for 12-24 hours, stirring occasionally and adding water if necessary. The meat will break down and become tender as it cooks.

Serve on soft corn tortillas with all the fixins: sour cream, homemade guacamole, salsa, tomatoes, lettuce and shredded cheese.

Tortilla Soup
(I used this recipe as a guide)

Ingredients:

Leftover shredded chicken (approximately 1-2 cups)
1 carton chicken broth
1 large can (28 oz.) stewed, diced tomatoes
1 can tomato sauce
1 red bell pepper, diced
1 zucchini, diced
1 onion, diced
8 oz. frozen corn
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 jalapeño pepper, diced
Half a bunch cilantro, chopped
Salt and pepper
1 tsp. cumin
1 tsp. poultry seasoning
1 tsp. cayenne pepper
Tapatio sauce
Blue corn tortilla chips

In a Dutch oven, heat a tablespoon of olive oil. Sauté red bell pepper, zucchini, onion and garlic garlic for a few minutes until tender.

Add all the other ingredients, except cilantro and corn. Bring to a light boil and cook on medium for about 15-20 minutes. Add frozen corn and cook for another five minutes. Add cilantro and stir well.

Serve with a dollop of sour cream, a handful of shredded cheddar cheese and crumbled tortilla chips.

11 Responses to Two Slow-Cooked Chicken Recipes: Tacos & Tortilla Soup

  1. Katie says:

    Who doesn’t love tacos and tortilla soup? I love the idea of using the leftover chicken for the soup. A woman after my own heart.

  2. Katie says:

    I am making both of these things immediately. Seriously, they both sound delicious.

    What size Crock-Pot did you use? Mine is pretty small, but my neighbor has this enormous, stainless-steel piece of heaven that she said I could borrow whenever I want since she never uses it. I’m thinking this would be a good excuse.

  3. Gilliebean says:

    Thank you, lovely Katies! They were pretty delicious for the minimal effort I put into both dishes.

    Ide, I have a five-quart Crock-Pot, but the chicken didn’t take up a ton of space for this recipe. It does work really well for bigger projects, like red beans and rice. I lurve it.

  4. Heather says:

    I made some shredded beef tacos with a big hunk of frozen pot roast that I had calling to me in my freezer. I adapted my receipe from here: http://www.mykitchenaddiction.com/2009/10/shredded-beef-tacos/

    So. Freaking. Good.

  5. Gilliebean says:

    Whoaaa, Heather, that looks amazing. The Crock-Pot and I are gonna be good friends.

  6. Nadeen says:

    Oh my…The 21st century Rosie the crock-pot above is identical to mine. It is truly an amazing device and were it not for the fact I love my blender it would be my choice for favorite kitchen device. The blender wins though because it not only makes incredible soups, it does wonderful things with alcohol. The crock-pot does run a close second. Ask my dogs and they will vote for the dehydrator. The mere site of it makes their mouths water – quite literally.

  7. Gilliebean says:

    Ooh, good call on the blender. Smoothies, milkshakes, daiquiris. It does it all!

  8. Thanks for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do a little research about this. We got a grab a book from our local library but I think I learned more clear from this post. I am very glad to see such great info being shared freely out there.

  9. learn how to get rid of bed bugs…

    […]Two Slow-Cooked Chicken Recipes: Tacos & Tortilla Soup « Feed the Empire[…]…

  10. Nice post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely helpful info specially the remaining phase :) I care for such info much. I was looking for this particular info for a long time. Thanks and good luck.

  11. Magnificent items from you, man. I’ve take into account your stuff
    prior to and you are just too excellent. I actually like what you have bought right here, really
    like what you’re saying and the way through which you
    say it. You’re making it enjoyable and you
    still take care of to keep it smart. I can not wait to learn much more from you.
    That is really a terrific site.

Leave a Reply

