Best. Pancakes. Ever.

Historically speaking, pancakes and I don’t really get along. I could never really figure them out. When I made them from scratch, they always turned out a bit too thick and stiff for my taste.

(That’s what she said. You’re welcome.)

That is, until yesterday morning. I was wrestling with a truly rare craving for pancakes. I’ve needed to go to the store for, oh, about three weeks now, so we were a bit low on supplies. I dug up my usual recipe and made a few adjustments for my lack of eggs, oil and all-purpose flour. And, oh my God, you would not even believe the difference it made.

These pancakes turn out somewhat thick , but they’re fluffy and not dense in the slightest. I put fresh blueberries in one batch and left the other plain, and they were both excellent. You can even double to recipe and freeze half of them for future pancake-related emergencies.

Best Pancakes Ever

1 1/2 cups bread flour
3 1/2 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1 Tbsp. sugar
1 1/4 cups milk
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
3 Tbsp. melted butter
1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

Sift the bread flour, baking powder, salt and sugar into a large bowl. Use a spoon to create a well in the center of the dry ingredients and pour in the milk, applesauce, butter and vanilla extract. Whisk the batter until it’s just combined; the mixture will be slightly lumpy, and that’s OK. Let the batter rest while you heat your griddle.

Heat a griddle to 375 degrees Fahrenheit and melt a couple teaspoons of butter on the surface. Pour the batter by 1/4 cupfuls onto the griddle, using a rubber spatula to smooth them into a circle (this batter will not spread on its own). Brown on both sides until the center springs back when you push on it gently with your finger (about 10 minutes).

Serve with butter, real maple syrup, jam, fresh fruit or just about any topping you can think of.

2 Responses to Best. Pancakes. Ever.

  1. Gilliebean says:

    I want these. Now. I haven’t made pancakes from scratch in a very long time, but I must make these soon. Thank you for saying “real maple syrup,” by the way. I can’t abide by that other stuff.

  2. Katie says:

    Seriously. I’m convinced that no one would eat that weird crap if they knew how delicious the real thing is.

Leave a Reply

