Mayo-Free Spinach & Artichoke Dip

I’m going to a potluck tonight and need to bring a crowd-pleasing appetizer that is maybe one or two steps classier than tots and pizza rolls (if this is even possible).

While looking through recipes for spinach-artichoke dip, I was horrified to find most of them used mayonnaise in them! Why would you do that? Gross! I’m sure I’ve been unwittingly eating mayo-laced dips for years, but it’s different when I’m making it. I know, and I just can’t do it.

I adapted the basic ideas I found in different recipes and came up with this variation that takes very little time to prepare and is downright delicious. In fact, I am eating a small bowl with tortilla chips for lunch RIGHT NOW.

Ingredients:

2 cans of artichoke hearts, drained
1 box frozen spinach, thawed
8 oz. cream cheese
4 oz. sour cream
8 oz. Italian blend shredded cheese
1/2 to 1 cup parmesan cheese
5 to 10 garlic cloves, roughly chopped or pressed
Splash of lemon juice
Salt and pepper to taste

Add all of the ingredients to a food processor or blender and pulse lightly a few times until everything is mixed but not too finely blended.

Bake at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes until the dip is bubbly and melty and irresistible. Serve with bread or crackers.

5 Responses to Mayo-Free Spinach & Artichoke Dip

  1. Katie says:

    God love you, my sister in mayonnaise hatred.

    Unfortunately, this recipe contains sour cream, which ONE of us (cough, cough) has declared a banned substance in this house. However, I always say what they don’t know won’t hurt ’em, unless it’s mayonnaise. Then it hurts us all.

    I’m making this tomorrow. Probably for dinner, but maybe for breakfast if I’m hungover.

  2. Gilliebean says:

    Yessss. It’s time we took a stand against these fools who put mayonnaise in god knows what!

    I like your style, but if the sour cream becomes an issue, it’s such a tiny amount you could easily leave it out and put in a bit more cream cheese to compensate. As long as it’s full of several kinds of cheese, I think it will taste pretty damn good.

    Mmm, this would be the perfect hangover breakfast food. Let me know how it turns out!

  3. Shannon says:

    I have had an unabashed aversion to mayo for years. Well done, Gill!

  4. Katie says:

    Mmmm, yes, yes. I think I may find a way to incorporate feta cheese as well. Because I’m all crazy like that.

  5. Gilliebean says:

    Good to know you’re on our team, Shannon!

    Oooh, feta is a brilliant idea. We make a pretty money gorgonzola-garlic dip… I wonder if we could incorporate some gorgonzola into this one. Yes, yes, I think that will have to happen next time.

Leave a Reply

