Slow Cooker Oatmeal

I have a tough time in the morning. I wake up groggy, stiff and starving, and I’m generally greeted by approximately 2 million new e-mails. This inevitably delays the first meal of the day for at least an hour or two. I’ve often thought, “Why is there not a machine that can cook my breakfast while I am attempting to keep from drowning in my own popularity?”

Or something to that effect.

This makes a pretty big batch of oatmeal, about six servings. However, it reheats really well in the microwave, so I usually just refrigerate the leftovers. What’s even better than making breakfast for one day? Making breakfast for the whole week!

Ingredients:


2-3 apples
1/2 cup dried cranberries, raisins or dates (optional)
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. apple pie spice
1-1/2 cups old-fashioned or steel-cut oats
1/2 cup granola
Pinch of salt

Chop the apples into bite-sized pieces, removing the core and seeds. You can peel them if you want, but I prefer to leave it as-is. Toss the apples with the dried fruit (if you’re using it), brown sugar, cinnamon and apple pie spice. Layer the apple mixture in the bottom of your slow cooker.

Layer the oats, granola and salt on top of the apples, then pour 3 cups of water over the whole thing. Do not stir it at this point; the moisture from the apples will keep the oats from sticking to the bottom of the crock and burning. Flip the slow cooker onto low and let it go for six to eight hours. Then stir, scoop and serve. I like mine with milk and a sprinkling of almonds.

One Response to Slow Cooker Oatmeal

  1. testkitchen1 says:

    What a great idea! Something I have never thought of, I am definately going to give this a try. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

