Pork and Pinto Beans

We eat a lot of Mexicanish food at my house. A lot. It’s cheap, it’s fresh, it’s easy…and we love it. I like quinoa and black beans more than is normal or healthy, but I decided that I wanted to have a couple more burrito ideas in my arsenal, just in case. I stumbled on this amazing-looking recipe, tweaked it a bit and gave it a shot yesterday. (Seriously, take a look at the photo on that blog. Don’t you want to eat that?)

After a couple of glasses on wine last night, I sampled the finished product and tipsily dubbed it “meaty beans.” This is the best burrito filling/nacho topping/taco meat I have ever had. And those of you who know me know that I take my burritos seriously. Very seriously.

Ingredients:

3 lb. boneless pork butt, trimmed of most of its fat
1 lb. dried pinto beans
1 28-oz. can diced tomatoes in juice
2 4-oz. cans fire-roasted diced green chiles
4 cups water
2 chopped white onions
2 diced jalapenos (with seeds)
6-8 minced cloves of garlic
3 tbsp. ground cumin
3 tbsp. chili powder
2 tbsp. dried oregano
1 tbsp. Tony’s
2 tsp. ancho chile powder
2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. cayenne

Place the trimmed pork butt in a large (I used a 7-quart) dutch oven. Pour the dried beans on top of the pork butt. You don’t need to soak the beans before you cook them. They have plenty of time to soften up in the pot.

Dump the rest of the ingredients in the dutch oven. Give them a stir to incorporate all the spices, then put on the lid and place the pot in a 250-degree oven. Cook the pork and pinto beans for eight to nine hours, pulling it out around hour five to add another cup of water if it looks a little dry. Shred up the meat and enjoy!

If you don’t want to run your oven all day, you might be able to use a Crock-Pot set to low, but my biggest slow cooker isn’t large enough to accommodate all the ingredients.

I realize that this recipe makes a lot, but it appears that it would freeze really well. Also, it’s so delicious that you’ll probably eat the whole vat. I can also vouch for the fact that the leftovers are even better than the freshly finished product.

2 Responses to Pork and Pinto Beans

  1. […] Pork and Pinto Beans « Feed the Empire […]

  2. […] or energy to cook much. Last night, I dug in and made a homemade pizza crust, then topped it with pork and pinto beans and grated Monterey jack. After it baked, I added some shredded lettuce, fresh salsa and avocado to […]

Leave a Reply

